Barefoot & Married

Not "Barefoot & Pregnant" yet – not as far as I know, at least!

Toying With My Emotions June 16, 2010

Filed under: Pictures,Water — barefootnmarried @ 11:45 pm

The weather has been taunting me lately. I’m used to Valley weather, and Bay Area weather has turned out to be a cruel cruel joke.

(Stick with me here, I know I’m talking about the weather, but I promise, I have a point)

Apparently it’s been the second rainiest May in history, but regardless, I hold it against the Bay that it has toyed with my emotions this way.

I love water. Anything to do with water, I love, and will try at least once. Growing up, this had me in the pool in January, the river in March, and splashing in the gutter during any rainfall. I had the best house with a pool, a pond, a Jacuzzi, a river running through the backyard, and a lake on the other side of the river (What? Charmed childhood you say? Yes, it was tough).

I will try pretty much anything to do with water, and while this has afforded me many positive experiences, including swim team, tubing, floating, waterskiing, jet-skiing, wakeboarding, water parks, water fights, and many more that I can’t think of at the moment, it has also resulted in some negatives. Like for instance, the time I cliff-jumped, managed to fall awkwardly on my back on the water, crack a couple ribs, and bruise myself all the way from the backs of my arms down my back, butt, thighs and calfs.

Oh yes, it was one big fat body-length bruise. And no, pictures will not be forthcoming. I do have some sense of shame.

Although, to be perfectly honest, the mishap was far less the fault of the water, and much more the fault of my klutziness and inability to turn down a dare. But that’s a topic for another therapy session.

What? Where was I? Water and Bay Area weather? I have been waiting and waiting and waiting to go to the lake this year, but the weather kept teasing me. Tuesday of a week, it would be warm, sunny and beautiful. Ecstatic, I would happily plan on a fun, warm, water-infused weekend. The weather forecast would appear to support my presumptions, and I would spend the week excited. However, around Thursday, the weather would take a turn for the worse, and by the weekend, the wet, cold, windy, stormy weather would all but eliminate the possibility of boating.

If that scenario had happened just once, I could have handled it. Twice, it would have been unfortunate, but again bearable. But no! This happened again and again on every free weekend I’ve had since March. Tragedy.

But enough of my pity party. The perfect storm (yes, pun intended) occurred this weekend, the weather aligned, and it was pure bliss!

Above: Mr. Barefoot jet-skiing

Below: Mr. Barefoot wakeboarding

And boating pictures are never complete without a couple of good crash pics:

Thanks for hanging around my pity party!

And serious props to in-laws with a boat!

 

Leave a Reply

